PDA

View Full Version : I Simply Want to Say...

Two-Push
04-17-2011, 06:02 PM
It's been some time since I've last posted on this site. Indeed, it's been nearly two years since I've ridden anything since the sale of my last Ducati. Despite the wet Spring we've been suffering, the occasional sunny day still has me wanting to ride.

I've decided to buy another bike. Maybe a used one, but I've been spoiled and the bikes I prefer are simply not available in large numbers on, say Craig's List. So... last week I decided to consider something new again. No surprise that a Ducati was high on my list, but my riding style and age has me considering something perhaps less aggressive, and a little more comfortable than a Superbike, yet I wasn't ready for a cruiser.

To the point: How do any of you put up with some of the idiots who think they are in the motorcycle business? I've been riding motorcycles for over 45 years. I've had small cc scooter types, dirt bikes, sport bikes, standards, naked bikes - even a Harley chopper. Why do some dealers that see me walk in, just assume I'm either in the market for a big cruiser or, most likely, think I'm looking for a graduation gift for my grandson? If they bother to greet me at all, or ask if they can help.

I've been around long enough and had enough bikes to expect this, but it doesn't make me feel like digging into my wallet and throwing money at them. With few exceptions, I'm inclined to think most motorcycle dealers do not set up recruiting booths at Mensa Society gatherings..