PDA

View Full Version : Need peoples opinion about clip-ons

baddabigboom
07-27-2009, 10:29 AM
So guys, I've finally found out why I've always been in so much pain with my back and neck. And some docs say I shouldn't try to ride anymore. But I've been riding on 2 wheels for well over 10 years now and there's no way I'm giving it up.

So I'd like everyones opinion on whether I'm going to Hell for what I'm doing to my bike.

As most of you know I have an 03 999s that I love to tinker on, and will most likely have buried with me. Well the bikes cockpit is very problematic for me. Aggravates a herniated disc half way up my back which then causes all sorts of other problems. It's mostly because I'm leaned over so much. So what I've done is take a pair of aftermarket clip-ons and instead of having the bars slanted down, I flipped the mounts over so that they are now pretty much parallel with the ground. I'm still making fine tuning adjustments for the steering, but so far it's much more comfortable for me to ride. Less strain on the back.

Being a bit of a purist (like to keep with the original concept the the designers created), but I am willing to make a change if I think it improves upon that concept. I have a somewhat dislike for what I've had to do. While it does improve the bike for me, a true connoisseur will notice what I've done. Bars are still at the same height, just no longer raked down.

So, the question is... Should I put it back to the way it's supposed to be, and just suck it up? or am I ok with the mod?

Carr
07-27-2009, 10:31 AM
Dude, if it makes riding more comfortable to you then do it, that's all that matters.

Dave R
07-27-2009, 10:38 AM
http://www.helibars.com/popup/ducati/HB3749/full01.jpg
http://www.helibars.com/popup/ducati/HB3749/full04.jpg (http://www.helibars.com/proddetail.php?prod=HB3749)
http://www.helibars.com/proddetail.php?prod=HB3749

This is the easiest solution IMO

Bong
07-27-2009, 10:39 AM